Tuesday TidBit- Salad Dressing Recipes

My fiance and I are getting more and more into growing and making our own foods. In most cases it saves us a lot of money and spares food spoilage. It also reduces the amount of unnecessary ingredients we consume which may not be all that good for us. This includes sodium, sugar, dyes, and other bizarre substances that show up on ingredient labels.

I love salads- and all kinds of salad dressings. There are such interesting flavors to choose from these days! So, for Christmas last year I asked for an emulsifier– or, in other words, a thingie to make my salad dressing in that comes marked with measurements and recipes! Excellent and useful gift…but, you can also use a glass jar! 🙂  It is so easy to use, makes the perfect amount, and all the recipes use simple ingredients!

I wanted to share with you a couple of my favorites. You can easily pour these ingredients in a glass jar then tightly screw on the lid and shake. Viola! Your salad dressing is ready! You can also adjust amounts to suit your quantity needs- just maintain the correct ratios. I would recommend using these within a couple days- and keep refrigerated after use- since they are homemade they lack any added preservatives for extended shelf life!

French Herb Vinaigrette

Combine 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil, 1/8 cup red wine vinegar, 1 Tbs. lemon juice, 1/2 Tbs. chopped rosemary, 1/2 Tbs. chopped thyme, 1 pressed clove of garlic, dash of pepper. Optional: 1/2 tsp. sugar. Shake and serve!

Dijon Vinaigrette

Combine 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil, 2 1/2 Tbs. red wine vinegar, 2 tsp. dijon mustard, dash of pepper. Shake and serve!

I like to experiment with the olive oils and vinegars I  use. I found a very nice Pomegranate Balsamic Vinegar I like to use. These are your main ingredients – an olive oil, a vinegar of some type, and herbs/garlic/onion. Simple!

Enjoy- and feel free to contribute any recipes you use or have found along the way!

One response to “Tuesday TidBit- Salad Dressing Recipes

  1. Which is the one that’s my favorite!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

